My Dress Design

4 Apr

I recently completed designing and constructing a dress for my Advanced Flat Pattern class.

My design inspiration for the dress was the 1950s silhouette of a fitted bodice and flared/voluminous skirt. Audrey Hepburn’s classic and sophisticated style was a great inspiration for me as well. I also drew inspiration from Spanish fashion designer Cristobal Balenciaga, (I too am part Spanish) who, in the early 1950s, designed dresses that had balloon/bubble skirts.

Andrea Medina design

Andrea Medina design

I decided to design a dress with a fitted, princess line bodice, a-symmetrical bubble skirt, and a pencil skirt under the bubble skirt. To reflect the Spring season, I chose to use a cotton fabric with a bright turquoise and lavender, all-over floral print. My focus was to make the dress look sophisticated, ladylike, and youthful at the same time. I love details in garments, and my unique details come in to play by incorporating turquoise lace on the bodice and tulle inside the skirt to emphasize the bubble shape.

Here is one of my favorite bubble/balloon dresses by Balenciaga from 1958:

Turquoise Balenciaga evening gown from 1958

Thank you for taking the time to learn about/see my design. I am very proud of my end result.

cheers! andrea ♥

4 Responses to “My Dress Design”

  1. Mrs. von Kriegenbergh April 4, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Andrea, The dress is absolutely beautiful!

    • drea April 4, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

      Thank you so much Mrs. VK! 🙂

  2. Olivia Rosalez April 14, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    Andrea, very nice desin! I also love the vibrant colors. It certainly does have that Audrey Hepburn style. I’ve always loved the way she dressed. Keep up the good work. Say hello to your mom for me! Olivia

    • drea April 16, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      Thank you Olivia 🙂 I appreciate your comment!

Leave a Reply

