Fashion Show Designs

27 Apr

I have completed my two garments that will be in the CSULB Campus Couture Fashion Show this May! I designed and constructed a dress and jacket. Here are the two garments together:

My main inspirations for my dress and jacket design came from the era of the 1950s, Spanish designer Cristobal Balenciaga, and my style icon Audrey Hepburn.

I was greatly inspired by 1950s fashion. The hourglass silhouette is what mainly stands out to me about that era. I find the silhouette of a fitted bodice and full skirt to be very soft and feminine, which are characteristics I like to portray in my designs. The bold use of prints during this time period inspired my use of the floral print for my dress. Prints such as flowers and polka dots made the clothes of the fifties look even more elegant and feminine. Additionally, the pastel colors used on many garments of the 1950s inspired my light blue color choice for my jacket fabric.

Spanish designer Cristobal Balenciaga was also an inspiration for me when it came to the silhouette of my dress. In the early 1950s, he designed dresses with a bubble/balloon shaped skirt. I find this shape to be dramatic, unique, and sophisticated.

Audrey Hepburn has always been an inspiration for me as well. She exuded such grace, femininity, and classic elegance. Her style is timeless, and I wanted my garments to reflect her qualities. I created my dress and jacket to be versatile, stylish, unique, feminine, and classic, which are traits that I believe Audrey Hepburn possessed. The feminine details of my garments that make me think of Audrey include the princess seams and lace yoke on my dress, and the center front bow and petal collar on my jacket.

Overall, the styles of the 1950s, designs of Cristobal Balenciaga, and femininity of Audrey Hepburn were the main inspirations for my dress and jacket design.

cheers! andrea ♥

Leave a Reply

