Always Remember . . . 9/11

11 Sep

Today marks the 10 year anniversary of one of the most tragic days in American history, 9/11. I think for most of us who were alive when it happened back in 2001, we remember where we were and how we heard about the horrific terrorist attack on our beloved country.

September 11th Tribute in Lights

I was 12 years old and in the 7th grade living in California. I remember my mom waking me up around 6am PST (9am EST), saying that my Dad called to tell us that a plane crashed into a building in New York. My initial thought was that it was some kind of accident with a small plane crashing into a building. We turned on the television only to discover that it was a much more serious act of terrorism. It was a school day, and my 1st class was English. Our amazing teacher had us all write how we were feeling about the day’s tragic events in our journals. It was a great way to express our true feelings.

I will never forget 9/11/01, and I will always be proud to be an American. My thoughts and prayers are with the family and friends of those who were lost that day, with everyone who had to experience that day 1st hand, and with our country as a whole.

cheers, andrea ♥

Leave a Reply

