Edinburgh, Scotland

5 Sep

I have now been back in the States for a few weeks, and thanks to this glorious three-day holiday weekend, I can catch up on some blogging!! To start where I left off, from day 9 to 13 of my UK/London/Olympic trip, I spent my first time visiting Edinburgh, Scotland with my mom. It was more gorgeous and green than I ever imagined. Our hotel location was superb, overlooking the Grassmarket, which is an area with wonderful restaurants and pubs. We also had a great view of the Edinburgh Castle.

On our first full day, Saturday, August 4th, we took a bus trip through the Highlands and to Loch Ness. Yes, THE infamous Loch Ness where the tale of the Loch Ness monster is set. We took a boat cruise down the river, and I have to admit, I was a bit nervous, haha. The landscapes we saw during the bus and boat trip were simply breathtaking.
On Sunday, August 5th, my mom and I visited the Edinburgh castle. It was a very rainy day, but I suppose we were treated to an authentic Scottish experience. Speaking of experiencing the culture, that evening, my mom and I attended a Scottish dinner show called “Taste of Scotland,” featuring Scottish music, singing, and dancing.

On Monday, August 6th, we visited Queen Elizabeth II’s Scottish residence known as the Palace of Holyroodhouse. It is quite an old, dreary looking palace on the inside, but the center courtyard was lovely, as was the abbey outside. Later that evening, my mom and I attended the Royal Military Tattoo at the Edinburgh Castle, which showcases military bands from around the world, along with dancers. Throughout the show, unique lights and images were projected onto the castle, and the show concluded with a fireworks show. The very fireworks show we saw each night prior from our hotel. The Tattoo was a great way to conclude our time in Scotland. The following day, we headed back to London for more Olympic events! But more on that later.

 

Cheers!

andrea ♥

Leave a Reply

